Skip to content

Not So Tru TV: Ma’s Roadhouse

October 10, 2010

 

Ma's Roadhouse Cast Photo: Courtesy Tru TV

 

Anyone who knows me will tell you I love my reality TV, fist pumping Jersey Shore, vacuous America’s Top Model, I’m even reading Tim Gunn’s latest book. So sue me, it’s a damn good watch when you feel like switching your brain to the “off” position.   I know most of it is scripted and certainly not real, but there are certain tenets in reality that you just do not break when you are presenting something as “reality.”

Rule #1: If the show is based on a business, any products featured in the show should be available in that business.  It’s just sad to see the look on tourists faces when they are told that something does not exist.

Rule #2: If you are going to feature something that can be easily sourced on the Internet, make sure it’s actually ON the Internet.  It’s kind of easy to get caught being scripted.

Rule #3: Businesses featured in reality TV should be real businesses.  Part of the fun of reality is going to a place you saw on TV.  Imagine if Food Network went to fake restaurants on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives.

The tag line for Tru TV, a network dedicated solely to reality television, is “Not Reality.  Actuality.”  Well, hate to break it to you, but Ma’s Roadhouse is far from Actuality.  I’ve had the opportunity to visit Stroker’s Icehouse on three separate occasions within the last month.

Reality Infractions

Violation of Rule #1: You can not get a Texas Tea, or even a Long Island Iced Tea, at Strokers.  When I asked for one, the bartender said, “Rick doesn’t like promoting that kind of heavy drinking to bikers.”  Good policy, I think, as I glance at the shelves of liquor behind the bar.  She continues, “Ma kind of does what she wants, though.”  LOL.  Nice cover, hun.  I’ll believe that like I’ll believe the health inspector wasn’t a bad local Dallas actor.

View a clip from the episode.

 

Rambo Tells Lena that Miss Slayer Needs to See Her

 

Violation of Rule #2: Daphne Slayer, enough said.  Lena makes a point of saying, “she’s all over the Internet.”  Being the cynical person I am, I picked up my laptop and Googled “Daphne Slayer.”  NOTHING.  Daphne Slayer UK.  NOTHING.  Oh man… really?  If you are going to say a person is all over the Internet and she’s a major pop star in the UK, at least put up some fake promo pages or something.  Talk about an amateur screw up for scripted reality.

View a clip from the episode.

Violation of Rule #3: There is no such business as Coochies Cakes in or around Dallas.  In fact, I couldn’t find a cake company with that name at all.  Best, the car decal they used for the delivery vehicle looks like bad puff paint.

View a clip from the episode.

 

AMS Productions shooting a wet t-shirt contest at Stroker's.

 

Yesterday, I was there during the taping of their 15th Anniversary party… wet t-shirt contest and all.  I will be very interested to see what ends up on television.  By the way, they do wear gloves in the kitchen.  I watched them make my nachos. They do not wear hair nets.

Have you caught any obviously fake reality on television recently?  If so, shout back!

Travel Note: If you have the urge to do Stroker’s while you are in Dallas, you should.  Stroker’s Icehouse has $1.50 jello shots, cheap beer and decent bar food.  It’s a good place to hang out, check out bikes and have a generally fun and cheap day.  Their bike shop has a great selection of apparel and biker merchandise.  I bought my purse there and I love it.

You owe it to yourself to stop by Reno’s Chop Shop as well.  I’ve had several people mention the place when I say I’ve been to Stroker’s.  They say Reno’s is more “real.”

30 Comments leave one →
  1. Porkie permalink
    October 12, 2010 11:09 PM

    I like the road house.

  2. brian permalink
    October 14, 2010 5:45 PM

    really? that is the worst piece of scripted garbage on trutv…and trutv is loaded with some doozies

  3. Rae permalink
    October 14, 2010 6:21 PM

    i agree, this show is a crock of shit. lena’s acting is the worst.

  4. missy permalink
    October 20, 2010 6:26 PM

    Really?! This is a reality show. I don’t think any “reality” show is completely true to what they are portraying. Whether or not Ma’s is real doesn’t matter to me because the show always makes me laugh.

  5. Micky T permalink
    October 20, 2010 6:32 PM

    Southern Fried Stings. That ranks as number one worst reality show to me. They try way too hard to make it interesting and real. Never actually watched it but I have been able to find problems already just from the commercials. Such as the episode dealing with the bald guys identity being stolen and then the guy pulls a gun on him and that he looks like the guy. WAYYY too unrealistic. You don’t need to look like the person whos identity you stole.

    Next, having worked in private security before, I know that kind of service is expensive. The jobs they have him doing are waayyyy below the paygrade of an actual private security group, the way he deals with stuff as well is not charasteristic of a pro security group. You don’t take bullshit, you don’t talk it out, you do the job, make the arrest with propper evidence otherwise a civilian arrest is very hard to have stick.

    Also, the episode dealing with the limo’s (I saw the starting part of it) they had a drug dog sniff the car. Said the dog found drug residuals but they couldn’t find any evidence of it. Ok…. what really happens is the dog will dig in and tear the frick’n seat appart if it needs to to find the smallest partical of the drugs. Then it barks when it finds the source, and you then test the source for what KIND of drug. Because the dog can smell it, there is something there and the propper testing can show what it is. That qualifies as evidence.

    • Nacho permalink
      November 24, 2011 9:42 PM

      WOW! Really you’re basing you’re opinion of the show on the commercials. You had 3 whole paragraphs of shit talking against something you’ve never even seen. Damn you’re a dumb ass, and by the way you spelled proper wrong several times. Sorry that just got on my nerves its not even a hard word

  6. Porkie permalink
    October 20, 2010 6:57 PM

    Wasn’t talking about the show. Was talking about the bar.

  7. Jeff permalink
    October 20, 2010 10:56 PM

    Why do people think what’s on TruTV is true? 1- They don’t spell true correctly to tell you that it’s ALMOST true but not quite. 2- Their tag is “Not reality – Actuality.” Which tells you it is their take on reality. So relax and enjoy, or change the chaannel to CNN or Fox News and watch that “reality.”

    • November 18, 2010 9:47 AM

      You got that right! Maybe someday some network will give me a reality show! LMAO! My reality makes their scripted stuff look like kindergarten nappy time!
      xoxox Bags

      Remember our vets and active military this Christmas y’all…
      God Bless and bring home Our Troops!

      • November 18, 2010 9:56 AM

        How about this y’all?

        Youtube or google, national adult comic/bikerchick

        “Bagladysue”

        BIKER REALITY SHOW STUFF ALL THE WAY!!! Dirty, hysterical fun and VERY real!

  8. Anonymous permalink
    October 21, 2010 4:49 AM

    I DO NOT KNOW WHERE TO BEGIN, WITHOUT MAKING MY POST A NOVEL. RICK IS PURE DIRTY, ARROGANT, IGNORANT AND FUGLY WHITE TRASH. MA IS FUNNY, BUT HAS NO DECORUM, NO MANNERS, AND HAS NEVER BEEN A “LADY” IN HER LIFE. I USE TO GO TO STROKERS UNTIL I SAW THIS SHOW, NOW I WILL NEVER EVER BE BACK. IT IS 100% AN EMBARRASSMENT. IT IS NO WAY REPRESENTATIVE OD DALLAS, NOR TEXAS. THESE IMBECILES MAKE TEXAS LOOK SO FCKIN BAD, AND THAT P*SSES ME OFF THE MOST. I JUST WANT TO CRAWL UNDER A ROCK JUST LOOKING AT THE SHOW. RICK IS SO FCKIN STUPID. FROM HIS NASTY STRINGY GRAY HIPPIE HAIR DOWN TO HIS LACK OF ANY MUSCLES, HOW CAN YOU BE ON THE PLANET THIS LONG AND HAVE “GIRL ARMS”?? WTF? RICK IS NOT TOUGH, HE IS A POSER KOOK. HE IS VERY UNFRIENDLY TO PATRONS AND I KNOW MANY PEOPLE WHO AGREE. THIS DIRTBAG DOESN’T EVEN SAY HI TO HIS GUESTS. “BIG-INS” , I FEEL VERY SORRY FOR HER, SHE HAS BEEN USED IN THIS BAR SINCE SHE WAS YOUNG AND IT USE TO PISS ME OFF THEN THAT HE ALLOWED HER TO DRESS SKIMPY AND WORK THE BAR AS A CHILD. IT IS ALL KINDS OF WRONG. NOW SHE HAS BECOME AS DUMB AS DIRT, JUST LIKE THEM. HER LIFE COULD HAVE BEEN REALLY SOMETHING HAD SHE DISTANCED HERSELF ENOUGH TO FOCUS ON A PROPER LIFE. THE MASOCHISTIC ATTITUDES ARE BARBARIC. I MEAN, SERIOUSLY, I LOVE BIKERS, ETC..BUT EVERY FCKIN WOMAN AND MAN ON THERE IS BUTT UGLY AND YOU ALL HAVE THE NERVE TO PICK APART THE WOMEN ON THE SHOW AND CALL THEM TRASHY? LMFAO HYPOCRITES ARE COWARDS. DPD SHOULD FOLLOW MA AROUND AS SHE PROBABLY SELLS WEED, NOTHING AGAINST SMOKING, IT IS JUST STUPID AS H*LL TO ANNOUNCE THAT OUT OF AN ESTABLISHMENT. I COULD HAVE CREATED FAR MORE FUN DRAMA IN ONE FCKIN DAY THEN THEY HAVE ALL SEASON. SHOW IS BORING AS FCK, THEY ARE LOSING MORE CUSTOMERS (YOU KNOW THE ONES WHO ACTUALLY HAVE MONEY), AND RICK IS RUINING HIS BUSINESS. I LIVE IN DALLAS AND I AM SPREADING ALL KINDS OF RUMORS, INFO, TO DALLAS CITIZENS. PROTESTING…BANNING OF THIS SHOW AND …. FU POSER RICK FOR MAKING TEXAS LOOK DAMN DUMB NO TOUGH GUYS IN THAT BAR, JUST A BUNCH OF P*SSIES RUNNING THEIR IGNORANT MOUTHS. F*CK THIS STUPID, LAME SHOW.

  9. Rick permalink
    October 21, 2010 4:31 PM

    This show is a crock , No reality at all it is just free stile bull sh it

  10. Tracey permalink
    October 21, 2010 6:56 PM

    I watched the Daphne Slayer episode as a rerun last night and I seriously was thinking the same exact thing! Thank you for not making me feel like an idiot. Actually, how I found your article was that I was also being cynical and went to look her up because I was very suspicious. Her British accent was just disturbing. There are also no words to describe her horrible acting. Wasn’t a big fan of the show to start, but this just irritated me further.

  11. Tracey permalink
    October 21, 2010 7:00 PM

    Oh 1 more thing. The episode that aired last night about the poker game and Rick getting arrested was just…well…the writers need to stop smoking crack is all I’m saying lol. Not to mention a massive swat team to bring down Ace (Ma’s ex) and when the swat teams shows up doesn’t tell EVERYONE to put their hands up….. What cop doesn’t tell everyone present to put their hands up and then they figure out who’s who after that, not just letting everyone but Ace to move about as they please…pathetic!

  12. BrooklynGirl permalink
    October 28, 2010 12:23 AM

    Tru TV’s mantra, “It’s not Reality, it Actuality” – or the reverse, I can’t recall. Which brings me to my question….What’s the difference between “reality” and “actuality”???? None as far as I am concerned, they are basically THE SAME!!!!

  13. BrooklynGirl permalink
    October 28, 2010 12:29 AM

    For a while, before I knew any better, I thought Operation Repo was real! I finanally figured it out when the cast members were supposedly repossessing a car, while having a tryst in a motel with his lover. His wife’s shows up as he opens the hotel door in nothing but a towel wrapped around his waist, and his wife proceeded to start screaming about the car.

    OK, let me remind you again, the husband is “opens the motel with almost naked while his supposed lover is inside”! The wife doesn’t start screaming who the hell are you cheating on me with. No, she start screaming about late car payments??!!!

    Name ONE woman who wouldn’t be trying to break down the motel door to see if the husband had her best friend or prostitute in the room with him????

    That’s when I KNEW….Operation Repo was a total hoax!!!!

  14. kathy permalink
    November 10, 2010 9:26 PM

    Omg!are u guys serious? If u don’t like it, change the channel.I guarantee every one of u that say u hate Mas Roadhouse,watch it and talk crap about it while its on , but if u really hate it,then y not change the channel to something u find more enjoyable! Yes,of course,its fake, but if it makes u laugh, then who cares! Everyone has there own opinion,and people like and dislike different things! If we all wanted to watch the same thing, there wouldn’t be cable tv.So don’t be jealous,cuz they got there own show!Who know, with all the new shows coming out, u may get ur chance too!

  15. funky dude permalink
    November 13, 2010 10:58 AM

    I would like to bend Ma over the bar and give her my jello shot!!!!

  16. Danny permalink
    November 18, 2010 2:51 PM

    Did anyone notice the Chicken suit used on a recent episode of Southern Fried Stings is the same Chicken suit used in an episode of Operation Repo? I guess they must have bought it off the rack at Walmart.

  17. ace permalink
    December 8, 2010 5:43 PM

    F#$% this show!

  18. Amy permalink
    December 15, 2010 9:01 PM

    I freakin love this show and so does my husband…… Fake or not its awesome………. U go Ma!!!

  19. stinka$$ permalink
    December 19, 2010 7:12 PM

    most of the shows on tru tv are def. not true,if u notice at the beginning of oper. repo,its states based on true events,so its stating the fact they are all actors,can u imagine that big blonde bi*** cioming to repo ur car,looks more like she coiuld be a bouncer on mas roadhouse lol

  20. Rob Ankrom permalink
    October 30, 2011 10:01 AM

    Dear Mz. Hansen: I envy your ability to actually be entertained by the train-wreck of humanity that is “reality tv.” I have just witnessed most of an episode of “Ma’s Roadhouse” on TruTV (the Arab episode), and I’ll be damned if didn’t witness a show very much like “Reno 911!”

    Sure, everyone on screen actually played themselves (the “Arab Tycoons” are up for debate), but some of the gags seemed to be gleaned from the “Reno” playbook.

  21. Nacho permalink
    November 24, 2011 9:46 PM

    The Driving instructor that rode with ma really works at the DMV. So there is one thing that was at least a little real.

  22. December 8, 2011 11:39 AM

    Hello there, I discovered your website via Google while searching for a comparable matter, your site came up, it seems good. I’ve bookmarked to my favourites|added to my bookmarks.

  23. January 26, 2012 4:21 AM

    This really answered my question, thank you!

Leave a comment